County Monaghan is in the northern Province of Ulster and is part of the Republic of Ireland.

The county borders County Tyrone in Northern Ireland to the north, Armagh in Northern Ireland, to the east, Louth to the southeast, Meath to the south, Cavan to the southwest and County Fermanagh in Northern Ireland to the west. There is small part  jutting into Fermanagh in the western area of the county.

Monaghan is the principal town.

Other major towns include Carrickmacross, Castleblayney, and Clones.Ballinode, BallybayCarrickmacross, Castleblayney, Clones.

After the defeat of the rebellion of Hugh O’Neill, The O’Neill and the Ulster chieftains in 1603, the county was not planted like the other counties of Ulster. The lands were instead left in the hands of the native chieftains.

Mullyash Mountain, Slieve Beagh and Coolberrin Hill are mountains in the county.

Lough Egish, Lough Fea, Muckno Lough, Lough Avaghon and Inner Lough in Dartrey Forestare some of it’s lakes.

River Blackwater  along the border with County Tyrone and Dromore River along the border of County Cavan, linking Cootehill to Ballybay are some of it’s rivers.

Rossmore Forest, Dartrey Forest and Dún na Rí Forest Parkare some of it’s forests where the majority of trees are conifers.

The Finn Bridge is a border crossing point across the River Finn between County Monaghan in the Republic of Ireland close to Scotshouse.

We hope you will enjoy your time when you visit OUR STORE